Samuel Hutchins was among a number of the early prominent citizens of Arundel (now Kennebunkport) who "owned a slave."
"A few of the inhabitants of Arundel were able to hold slaves. Mr. Prentice bought the first one owned in town, in 1734. Mr. Hovey also owned one, and probably sold him in 1747. Robert Cleaves, Thomas Wiswall, Samuel Hutchins, John Fairfield, Gideon Walker, Andrew Brown, and Jonathan Stone each owned a slave. Several of them were living in the town, but a few years since, the last two of whom died in the poor house, or which the son of the former master of one of them was an inmate." - Bradbury, p. 158
Bibliography:
History of Kennebunk Port from its First Discovery (1602-1837) - Charles Bradbury