Along with the Rancos, the Shays, the Mitchells and the Nicolas, the Neptune family camped along the Kennebunk River in the summers from the late 19th century until the 1930's.
"Penobscot and Passamaquoddy families from Indian Island in the Penobscot River, occupied land on both sides of Ocean Avenue at Cape Arundel every summer for almost 50 years. The Rancos settled first near Picnic Rocks in 1878. The Mitchells set up camp on Emery Point the following year. Both families later camped at the mouth of the Kennebunk River along with the Shays, the Neptunes, and the Nicolas, who first came in the summer of 1882. At first, they lived in tents but as time went on they built more permanent wooden structures. They made a good living making and selling sweetgrass baskets for the tourists. Louis Francis and Joseph Ranco, both Old Town Penobscot Indians, made birch bark canoes every summer near Government Wharf. Ranco is credited for making the first canvas canoe and patenting several canoe improvements over the years. Thanks to Joseph Ranco, Kennebunkport was considered a canoe-making center in the early-1900s. 'Indian Village' was torn down by landowner John Peabody in 1936." Kennebunkport Historical Society Facebook post for Indigenous Peoples Day 2019
Bibliography:
Indigenous Peoples Day 2019 post - Sharon Cummins for the Kennebunkport Historical Society - 10/14/19
Ropes' Ends - Annie Peabody Brooks (1901)
Indian Village at K'Port No More - Last of Tribe Buildings Razed This Week - Kennebunk Star, 4/24/1936